The Vancouver Scrum

On the move!

Agh! You’re still here? My new site and weblog, is now up and running; new posts are building up over there, never to be mirrored here. Go! What are you waiting for? All the stuff worth keeping has been migrated over to the new server, and I don’t anticipate making any more posts here.

Bloggers and webmasters: Update your links! Simply replace with in your blogrolls or bookmarks to point to the new site. Old posts will remain on this server for as long as the people at Blogger/Google allow them to remain; unfortunately, I’m not going to bother to come up with any way of converting permalinks on this blog to their corresponding posts on the new site. Yes, I plead laziness. I also realize the irony of switching away from Blogger just it starts to add features that the demanding blog nerds insist upon.

Thanks for reading and linking, and see you over at!

—Ian King, December 13, 2004

Thursday, September 19, 2002

Civic political stuff.

I was down at COPE's nomination meeting last night at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver; an interesing affair. The left-leaning civic party is in high spirits; the buzz among the party faithful was that for the first time in a decade, the ruling civic Non-Partisan Association is vulnerable for the first time in a decade.

Larry Campbell was acclaimed as the slate's mayoral candidate; the former chief coroner's acceptance speech was interrupted by a standing ovation that lasted for at least twenty seconds. COPE has been aggressively promoting their star candidate; party banners read "Larry Campbell and COPE." Media consultant and Georgia Straight columnist Bill Tieleman describes Campbell as a "cross-cleavage" candidate who appeals to parts of the political spectrum beyong COPE''s traditional left-wing and labour support.

COPE's 2002 civic nominees:


Larry Campbell

City Council

Fred Bass (incumbent)
David Cadman
Jim Green
Raymond Louie
Tim Louis (incumbent)
Anne Roberts
Tim Stevenson
Ellen Woodsworth

A recount was needed for the council nominations; Bass, Green, Cadman, and Louis were the highest vote-getters.

School Board

Allen Blakey (incumbent)
Jane Bouey
Noel Herron
Angela Kenyon
Kevin Milsip
Adrienne Montani (incumbent)
Allan Wong (incumbent)

Park Board

Heather Deal
Lyndsay Poaps
Eva Riccius
Anita Romaniuk
Loretta Woodcock

CKNW radio report on the meeting
Comments: Post a Comment

Reports, opinions, columns, and anything else on this site, are © 2002-2003 Ian King unless otherwise noted. Permission granted to use material on this site for non-commercial purposes provided that the work is attributed to the original author. All other uses require specific permission of the original author. Contact weblog owner with any inquiries.

Feel free to link to this web log. The management likes getting lots of traffic.